DSPY 2014 Results

The third biennial Deaf Sports Personality of the Year Awards ceremony went off with a great bang on Saturday 29th November 2014 at Ricoh Arena with 330 guests.  The Night included a parade from the Deaflympians, a video speech by Tony Jacklin, Robin Knox-Johnson and Ben Cohen and entertainment was provided by Adam Bassett and Jacqueline Scott (Mrs Brown).


Congratulations to all the eight worthy winners and 16 shortlisted nominees from across the UK and Overseas, It is good to see this event raising the profile of deaf people playing sport including those who have been successful in mainstream sport. We hope this event will continue to raise a positive portrayal of deaf and hard of hearing people in sport.
Selecting winners was a very tough decision as every nominee this year was outstanding in their own field. The individuals and organisations on the shortlists should all be proud of what they have achieved” – DSPY Judges


We are pleased to announce that Donna Cross, who was the DSPY2014 winner has accepted an invitation from UK Deaf Sports to attend the BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2014 in Glasgow along with other athletes on Sunday 14th December 2014.


A full list of winner are as follows


 Deaf Sport Personality of the Year  Donna Cross
 COACH OF THE YEAR:  Spencer Stevenson
 TEAM OF THE YEAR:  Doncaster Deaf Trust FC
 OVERSEAS SPORT OF THE YEAR:  Derrick Coleman (American Football)
 FAN OF THE YEAR:  Annie Straw
Disclaimer: At the time of publishing all links included in this article were active and working, however over time they may have depreciated and no longer link to the original source page.