DSPY2010 Winners!

SPORTS PERSONALITY OF THE YEAR:  Winner:Sponsored by Managing Partners Limited, Second: – Sponsored by Unitron UK and Third: Sponsored by Deaf Parenting UK.
Awarded the sportsmen or women whose actions have most captured our imaginations during 2009/2010.

Winner: – Rajeev Bagga (Badminton): – Winner of a silver medal in the men’s singles at the Taipei Deaflympics. He is also the current All-England & European Veterans Singles champion (hearing).

2nd: – Lauren Peffers (Athletics): – Two silver medals in Taipei for 400m & 800m, further medals at this year’s European Championships, and participation in mainstream national athletics events clearly show that she has the potential to reach Olympic standard.

3rd:- Jamie Matthews (Squash):- Currently the World Deaf Squash Champion he also won the Surrey Closed Championship (hearing) in January 2010. He also plays professionally on the men’s tour around the world and has a respectable world ranking of 250.

TEAM OF THE YEAR: Sponsored by Sign Video
Awarded to the team which has achieved the most notable performance in British Deaf sport during 2009/2010.

Anthony Sinclair & Catherine Graham (Mixed Doubles Tennis): Victory for Sinclair and Graham secured Britain’s first Deaflympics mixed doubles gold medal for more than 50 years and Britain’s only gold of the Taipei Deaflympics.

OVERSEAS SPORTS PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Sponsored by KJW Accountants Limited
Awarded to the overseas sportsman or woman who has made the greatest impression on the world of Deaf sport during 2009/2010.

Terence Parkin (Swimming & Cycling): Terence Parkin won seven gold’s at the Taipei Deaflympics in 2009 and also went home with a bronze medal in the Individual Road Race in cycling.

COACH OF THE YEAR: Sponsored by Signamic
Awarded to the Deaf coach who has made the biggest impact on British Deaf sport during 2009/2010.

Roanna Simmons (Ladies Football): The first Deaf Women to gain the FA Level 3 UEFA B Coaching Licence, she coaches for several coaching projects for Fulham FC and NDCS

YOUNG PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Sponsored by Me2 project, Deaf Friendly FC projects and NDCS
Awarded to the outstanding young sportsperson aged 18 or under in 2009 & 2010.

Hannah Fitton (Swimming): – She won one silver and three bronze medals at the recent Deaflympics.

LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD: Sponsored by AC2.com Productions and Actual Signs
This is a special award honouring someone who has made a major impact on the world of sport in his or her lifetime.

Chris Gwynn

UNSUNG HERO: Sponsored by Deaf Parenting UK
This award recognises those who selflessly devote their time and efforts to enabling others to play and enjoy sport.

Derek Simmons: – His heart has always been in trying to ensure that all Deaf people are treated equally and with the respect they deserve within sport.

FAN OF THE YEAR: Sponsored by BSL works
This is a special award for outstanding fan who attends events and builds morale for the teams & fans.

Marcella Stratton: – She is recognised everywhere at home and abroad and is known for drumming up fanatical support as well as her colourful costumes.

Disclaimer: At the time of publishing all links included in this article were active and working, however over time they may have depreciated and no longer link to the original source page.